The London Agreement has been concluded by a number of member states of the European Patent Convention in order to reduce the translation costs of European patents. The member states which are bound by the London Agreement waive the right to demand a translation of the European patent into their national language.

For Macedonia the London Agreement comes into effect on February 1st, 2012. From this date on, the validation of a  European patent in Macedonia does not require a complete translation into the national language anymore. Including Macedonia, the London Agreement is valid for 18 member states of the European Patent Convention. The further member states are Denmark, Germany, France, Finland, Iceland, Croatia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovenia, Hungary and the United Kingdom.