In the last months the Philippines, Columbia, and New Zealand have become members of the Madrid system for the international registration of marks. The protocol relating to the Madrid agreement has already come into effect as from July 25th, 2012 for the Philippines and as from August 29th, 2012 for Columbia. For New Zealand the protocol has come into force as from December 10th, 2012. Thus, international registrations of trade marks (“IR-trade marks”) can be extended to these countries. However, the Philippines have declared reservation that this only applies to newly registered IR-trade marks.

With the accession of Mexico in spring 2013 the Madrid system expands further comprising already 89 states. On February 19th, 2013 the protocol came into effect for Mexico, so that IR-trade marks can be extended to that country.